Drivers Ed

If you are about to apply for your learners permit in PA, then you should be ready to take some drivers education courses to give yourself the best change of passing your license test. A drivers license test can be difficult and failing can cause problems. Please read below for details on the requirements of getting your PA license application completed as a young driver.

UPDATE – Please Note the learners permit requirements have changed for those under 18 who have not passed their license test as of 12/24/2011
Pennsylvania’s Stronger Teen Driver Law to Take Effect Dec. 24

Pennsylvania’s new law aimed at increasing road safety for young drivers takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on Dec. 24. The new Pennsylvania law increases behind-the-wheel training requirements, places a limit on the number of passengers a young driver can transport without a supervising adult, and makes not wearing a seatbelt a primary offense for young drivers.

 

PA Jr Driver's License

New PA Jr Driver’s License

The new law adds 15 hours of supervised, behind-the-wheel training for driver’s license permit holders younger than 18, bringing the total to 65 hours of enhanced driver education and training. Ten of the additional hours must include driving at night and five hours of driver education must occur during poor weather conditions. Current permit-holders younger than 18 who have not yet passed the driving skills test before Dec. 24 will have to meet the requirements of the new law by completing the enhanced portions of the requirements.

Also, as part of the law, drivers younger than 18 will not be permitted to transport more than one passenger who is under 18 and is not an immediate family member unless they are accompanied  by a parent or legal guardian. After six months, the junior driver may transport up to three passengers younger than 18 who are not immediate family members without a parent or legal guardian present, but only if that driver has not been convicted of a driving violation or has not been partially or fully responsible for a reportable crash.

Seatbelts are a primary offence, meaning that if a police officer sees you or a passanger driving without your seatbelt, you can be stopped and cited. You can also be cited for violations noticed during the stop for a seatbelt violation stop. (too many passangers, violations of restricted hours, distracted driving). As always operating an electronic device is not permitted and can result in additional fines and citations to a junior driver.

The law also requires that junior drivers and passengers under the age of 18 must wear a seat belt, and children under the age of eight must be fastened in a child restraint system. The seat belt provisions of the new law are primary offenses, meaning a driver can be stopped and cited solely for that violation.

 

For more information on young driver safety, visit PennDOT’s highway safety website, www.DriveSafePA.org and select the “Young Driver” link under the Traffic Safety Information 

Center or see the young driver section on PA-License.com for more tips, tricks, and guides on how to make your new PA driver’s license license application a success.

 

As always you can find more details in the driver license application and driver’s handbook. Your driving school instructor should be able to explain how to meet all of the conditions of the new law and get you passed the driving test.